Plus X Award seals of approval are presented in seven different categories – innovation, high quality, design, ease of use, functionality, ergonomics and ecology.

Prerequisite for an award is: The product must be of absolutely the highest quality, have a long life cycle, be functional and its design must be leading-edge. These prerequisites must be satisfied before the jury even considers nominating a product for an award. And: It must show one or more additional convincing features, i.e. functional innovations – these being the “Plus X” factors of real brand quality. With this concept, the Plus X Award maintains its high standing as a credible quality seal across all industries.

Up until now and in the future, this will be the innovation prize’s main task, that is to nominate innovative and outstanding quality products and make the public aware of them.

The word “innovation” originates from the Latin word “innovatio”, meaning more or less renewal or change. In today’s society we are quick to call something an innovation when it is new to the market. However, products with the Plus X factor are not “me too” goods. They are innovative and represent the latest state-of-the-art technology. Cutting-edge technology is an absolute must for these products, because only with this feature will they be considered future-proof, which is the basic requirement for long life and use cycles.

One of the most encompassing hallmarks of excellence a product can possibly acquire is the award for “High Quality”, for it embodies the manufacturer’s effort to deliver nothing but the utmost quality on the one hand and, on the other, the seal represents the durability of a product. Hence, “High Quality” products are contrasting strongly with the bulk of mass-produced goods that are made for prompt consumption and replacement. “High Quality” products are genuine investments into the future.

 

Reducing complex technology is visibly gaining in significance, both in terms of content as well as technically and for many manufacturers is becoming more and more a part of their overall philosophy. Whether their products are TV sets, fully automatic coffee machines or portable devices – functional design is a trend that is truly recognizable. And it’s a successful approach, as can be seen by many products awarded with the Plus X Award.

IIf a company’s objective is to wow consumers with the technical novelty and performance capabilities of its products, along with a device that is easy to operate, it will have to provide them with a well thought-out user’s manual. The R&D department, the product design department and the technical communications department must work hand in hand in order to guarantee from the upstart of a new product that users receive comprehensive support. Products that can be operated easily and intuitively are those that really establish themselves as innovations in the consumer’s mind.

 

If a product fulfills one function – or even a group of functions – in a very efficient and user friendly way, it will be awarded the Plus X Award seal for functionality. Besides their basic functions, innovative products show extra functionality. To meet the demands of consumers, those functions should work together with the basic functions in a homogenous way. Also judged are the range of functionality and the resulting advantages for the user.

The goal of ergonomics is to create products that are manageable and comfortable to use. Any interface between man and machine must be a perfect match for the product’s user to assure that there is no damage and that the product can be put to its ideal use. The principle that applies in this case: Man should take centre stage.

 

Saving energy these days is no longer simply a matter of ecological aspects for protecting the environment, but is also a way to save money. For consumers not nearly as transparent, for man and environment, however, just as important, is the goal to minimise a device’s emissions, such as sound, dust or harmful substances. There’s always quite a bit of courage involved when it comes to being an innovator and to setting trends. Setting products apart from the masses is on the one hand a way of helping consumers and on the other hand works as a catalyst for even more courageous steps towards environmental compatibility.

Die Plus X Award Gütesiegel werden in sieben verschiedenen Kategorien vergeben – Innovation, High Quality, Design, Bedienkomfort, Funktionalität, Ergonomie und Ökologie.

Voraussetzung für eine Auszeichnung ist: Das Produkt muss qualitativ hochwertig, funktionell und auf der Höhe der Zeit gestaltet sein. Diese Vorbedingungen müssen erfüllt sein, bevor die Jury überhaupt über einen Award abstimmt. Und: Es muss eine oder mehrere überzeugende Zusatzfunktionen, also sinngerechte Innovationen, aufweisen – die “Plus X” Faktoren echter Markengüte. Durch dieses Konzept bewahrt der
Plus X Award sein branchenübergreifend hohes Ansehen als glaubwürdiges Qualitätssiegel.

Bis heute und in Zukunft ist es die Aufgabe des Innovationspreises, herausragend innovative Qualitätsprodukte zu benennen und publik zu machen.

Das Wort Innovation stammt von dem lateinischen Wort “Innovatio”, was soviel wie Erneuerung oder Veränderung bedeutet. In unserer heutigen Gesellschaft spricht man sehr schnell von Innovationen, wenn etwas Neues erscheint. Produkte mit dem Plus X-Faktor sind jedoch keine “me too”-Ware. Sie sind innovativ und verkörpern den neuesten Stand der Technik. Topaktuelle Technologie ist ein Muss, denn nur sie bietet Zukunftssicherheit und ist somit die Basis für eine lange Lebens- und Nutzungsdauer.

Eines der umfassendsten Gütesiegel für ein Produkt ist die Auszeichnung “High Quality”, denn sie verkörpert einerseits die Bestrebungen des Herstellers, dem Kunden beste Qualität zu liefern, andererseits steht das Siegel auch für die Langlebigkeit eines Produktes. “High Quality”-Produkte unterscheiden sich in diesen Belangen von Massenware, die nur für den schnellen Konsum und mit Hinsicht auf zeitnahen Austausch entworfen wurde. High Quality Produkte sind ein Investment in die Zukunft.

 

Die Reduktion der Technik-Komplexität gewinnt zusehends sowohl inhaltlich als auch formal an Bedeutung und entwickelt sich bei vielen Herstellern mittlerweile zur Philosophie. Ob TV-Geräte, Kaffeevollautomaten oder Portable-Devices – funktionales Design ist ein erkennbarer Trend. Und das mit Erfolg, wie bei vielen Plus X Award ausgezeichneten Produkten erkennbar ist.

Wer Verbraucher für technische Neuerungen und die Leistungsfähigkeit seiner Produkte begeistern will, muss ihnen neben einer komfortablen Bedienung eine durchdachte Anleitung an die Hand geben. Die Entwicklungsabteilung, das Produktdesign und die technische Kommunikation müssen Hand in Hand arbeiten, um zum Start eines neuen Produktes eine umfassende Anwenderunterstützung zu garantieren. Produkte, die sich leicht und intuitiv bedienen lassen, eröffnen den Konsumenten die Innovationen erst wirklich.

 

Erfüllt ein Produkt seine Funktion, oder gar eine Gruppe von Funktionen, besonders effizient und benutzerfreundlich, so wird es mit dem Plus X Award Gütesiegel für Funktionalität ausgezeichnet. Neben der Basisfunktion weisen innovative Produkte vermehrt Zusatzfunktionen auf. Um den Ansprüchen der Verwender gerecht zu werden, sollten diese Funktionen homogen mit der Basisfunktion zusammenwirken. Ebenfalls werden die Größe des Funktionsumfangs und die daraus entstehenden Nutzenvorteile beurteilt.

Ein Ziel der Ergonomie ist es, handhabbare und komfortabel zu nutzende Produkte herzustellen. Die Schnittstelle zwischen Mensch und Produkt muss perfekt auf seinen Benutzer abgestimmt sein, damit diesem keine Schäden entstehen und das Produkt optimal eingesetzt werden kann. Dabei gilt der Grundsatz: Im Mittelpunkt steht der Mensch.

 

Energiesparen geschieht heute nicht mehr nur aus ökologischen Aspekten zum Schutz der Umwelt, sondern hilft Geld zu sparen. Für Verbraucher weniger transparent, für Mensch und Umwelt aber ebenso wichtig, ist die Minimierung von Geräteemissionen wie Schall, Staub oder Schadstoffen. Es gehört immer wieder Mut dazu, innovativ zu sein und Trends zu setzen. Produkte aus der Masse des Angebots hervorzuheben hilft einerseits den Konsumenten und wirkt andererseits als Katalysator für weitere, mutige Schritte hin zu mehr Umweltverträglichkeit und technischer Innovation.